Taking a look at “The Lather” – Vol. XL – February, 1940 – No. 6

“The Lather ” was the publication for the officially named organization of the Wood, Wire and Metal Lathers International Union.

Both my father, Harry Limes, and his father – my grandfather, Winfield Scott Limes, (AKA W.S. or Scott Limes) were members of the #171 Local of the “Lather’s Union”. So it was that I was quite pleased to discover on Ebay not long ago that there was a February 1940 issue of “The Lather” up for auction. It was a year of the publication that I did not have. 

Below are a few representative pages from this issue of “The Lather”. My father’s name is not in it because by 1940 he was employed with General Industries in Elyria and not active in the building trades. He, however, did keep his membership belonging to the Local #171 in Lorain County. My grandfather, on the other hand, knew of no other trade during his lifetime and was a member. My grandfather’s two brothers were Thomas Limes and John Warren Limes who were both active with their local #1 in Columbus, Ohio during this time.

Leave a comment