Find A Grave Changes Are a Coming!

A Heads up for those of us who are contributors and users of Find A Grave, which as most of us know by now, has been taken over by Ancestry.com!  More changes are to come with the Find A Grave website.

Click Here to read about upcoming changes for Find A Grave.  

Now might be a good time to go into your “Contributor Tools” and download your data.:

“Download Your Data”

“You can download your records for a cemetery or virtual cemetery by choosing it from the list below. The data will download as a tab-delimited Excel file. This format can be imported into a variety of programs. Add cemeteries to your My Cemeteries list to see them listed here.”

Just a tip:  I use a Windows 7 64bit desk top computer and when I downloaded a cemetery file it saved it to a .txt format instead of an Excel format.  I changed the .txt to a .xls and the file then opened up in Excel for me.  I could also re-save the .xls into a .xlsx file.  I still have Office 2007 on my computer.  So, if your downloaded cemeteries default to .txt this would be a workaround for you.

Leave a Reply

