When a Cemetery is Reborn: A Happy Ending For Old Greencastle Cemetery

Congratulations on a resounding success at achieving a rebirth at the Greencastle Cemetery. It shows just how folks working together can accomplish so much and inspires others to follow your lead.

Adventures in Cemetery Hopping

Some of you may remember the blog posts I wrote about Old Greencastle Cemetery in Dayton, Ohio. The first one (“When a Cemetery Dies”) was about my visit there in 2012 to try to find the graves of my great-great-grandparents, Samuel and Margaret Grice. I never did find them and the place was in very bad shape, except for the area dedicated to veterans.

This is what Old Greencastle Cemetery looked like when I visited in 2012. I had no idea that everything was about to change. This is what Old Greencastle Cemetery looked like when I visited in 2012. I had no idea that everything was about to change for the better.

The second post was about a year ago when I learned that a lot had been happening at Old Greencastle to bring it back to its former glory. I was cautiously optimistic that the changes were of a permanent nature. Having seen old cemeteries get cleaned up only to slide back into ruin, I was afraid to get my hopes…

View original post 650 more words

Leave a Reply

