Use D/2 Biological Solution to Clean Gravestones

Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter

Genealogists and anyone else interested in preserving cemetery tombstones and other objects exposed to the weather should become familiar with D/2 Biological Solution. It is useful for cleaning tombstones without causing any damage to the stone.

The solution is safe for use and does not harm the tombstone. Even the highly-respected Association for Gravestone Studies recommends the product in the organization’s FAQs (Frequently-Asked Questions) at https://www.gravestonestudies.org/knowledge-center/faq-s#faqnoanchor:

“Treat a wet gravestone with D/2 Biological Solution, scrub into a lather using a plastic bristle brush, and smooth the lather into the inscription to make the letters more readable. Afterward, rinse the stone thoroughly.”

View original post 367 more words

4 thoughts on “Use D/2 Biological Solution to Clean Gravestones

  1. I had posted on Dick Eastman’s blog (Wanda in PA!), saw you post and followed your link. I have used D/2 and it really is amazing. I use it full strength in a spray bottle, on a wet stone, but a little goes a LONG way! I’ve used it on 4 headstones so far and have way over 3/4 of a gallon left. Also, when you are brushing/scrubbing a truly dirty, lichen covered, filty stone, beware that it will splatter back on you and that gook is nasty. I had it splattered all over my clothes and arms, so just a heads up! (It did wash out of my clothes though, with no special treating or anything).
    D/2 does make a huge difference and is WELL worth the price!
    Wanda in PA!

    • Hi Wanda. I just now saw your comment and thank you greatly for commenting. I would like your permission to post your comment on my facebook group “Preserving Ohio’s Cemeteries” which is a closed group. We do have some professionals in the group who use D/2 and we are always looking for further endorsements of it. I also have an Ohio cemetery preservation blog: http://www.limesstones.blogspot.com. Many thanks again for posting, and I have approved your comment.

      • Yes, you certainly may use my comment on your Facebook group. (If possible, first please correct my spelling of “you post” to your post, and “filty” to filthy!)
        I bought my D/2 from LimeWorks.us and had sent them some before/after photos of the first stone I cleaned with D/2. They posted them on their Facebook page. I was surprised, as first, that it received 11 shares but then, the more I thought about it, the photos really do show just how amazing D/2 cleans! Here is the link, in case you’d like to take a look at them: https://www.facebook.com/LimeWorks.us/posts/627601950661617
        If anyone has any questions about anything, just let me know. I’m not affiliated with D/2 or LimeWorks, just someone who is trying to preserve my ancestor’s headstones and their history so they won’t be forgotten.
        Wanda in PA!
        ps – I will definitely check out your Facebook page and blog! (I just saw that your FB page is closed but please let me know of any responses 🙂 I may join to lurk and learn new things (since I’m not from Ohio) if that’s okay. My name on Facebook is “Wary Wanderer”.

Leave a Reply

